millpopla.blogg.se

Fancycache vs supercache
Fancycache vs supercache




fancycache vs supercache
  1. #FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE DRIVERS#
  2. #FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE UPDATE#
  3. #FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE PRO#
  4. #FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE PC#

Now - here's a question I pose to the forum readers. Other times, the ad would say "NVME" but more thorough investigation of the information provided would show "SATA III" and spec maximums of below 600 MB/s. Here and there, you could find 128 GB "NVME" drives for which the spec information would show the sequential read and write speed maximums for the drive, so you might see 2,000 MB/s, etc. It isn't the offerings per se that I have trouble with, but how they are represented (or confused) on EBay.

fancycache vs supercache

I'm going to take a look at those Ebay bargains you mentioned.įor Jimminy - I checked the Ebay offerings and they are numerous. Those seem to be a bargain for the price, and people are rave about them in terms of performance and power efficiency. You might not want to waste something like that on a Sandy generation box, but for something else - you might have an interest. Certainly no problem if they approached Samsung 960 performance, anyway.Īlso, just to pass on the skinny - check out the SK Hynix 1TB NVME "Gold P31" drives. The PCIE v.2.0 bandwidth would make the Ebay NVME's more attractive.

fancycache vs supercache

And there are really no drawbacks to that, either. How much would you be limited by PCIE v.2.0? You're going to cache that to RAM anyway, if you use the three-tiered approach. With extra RAM on an old Z68 or Z77 board, I would be optimistic. Suppose you can get a 970 EVO equivalent for $30 and you spend $30 on the caching software. And I think I"ll have a look at those EBay jobs you mention.

#FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE PRO#

The Pro models only come with a minimum 500GB capacity, but the EVOs - in the 970 line - can be had as 256GB for about $60. Even so, I just took another look at the Samsung offerings. But what I've got right now is fulfilling all my needs at the moment.Ĭlick to expand.You know? You're absolutely positively right with this. For me, I'm "just lookin'" at an i5-10600K hexa-core processor and Z490 motherboard. One of them is still using a C2D Conroe system as his main desktop.

#FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE PC#

I have friends who are electronics-tech PC "savvy", but they live off the old-gen dated-tech junk-pile. A 256GB NVME is enough, but I'm not sure you can buy them that small anymore! So maybe you boost your Sandy/Ivy/Z68/Z77 to 24GB or 32 GB of RAM, throw in an NVME in a PCIE x4 slot, and. You'd boot from your SATA SSD, but the caches would come off the NVME drive. Thing is - I just thought of it so one could suspect I've lost too many brain cells already at 74 - I could throw a Samsung 960 or 970 Pro or EVO into those Z68 and Z77 systems and make them cache drives. As I see it, with that little amount of trouble, a lack of any data loss or other adverse effects, I'm not giving it up as a feature of my computer systems. I think there's an ongoing discussion over at the Romex forums about using the program with Optane, when you would think that Optane obviates any need to use the program.

#FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE UPDATE#

The worst thing that has ever happened: a Windows 10 major feature update will bork the caches, and they need to be flushed. You can cache HDDs and SATA SSDs to NVME drives, and cache all of it to RAM in a three-tiered configuration. The program will save RAM caches (called L1 by the program) to disk, and restore them on the next boot-up. Even if I double the disk writes for hibernating to include some ballpark of daily disk activity, I come up with about 50 years of lifespan for the NVME drives. It was the Samsung NVME driver! That's all it was!Īt first, I concerned myself that hibernating 32GB of RAM would rack up TBWs and shorten the lives of my NVME drives. Finally, I just ran a web-search on "failure to hibernate or sleep" with "INTERNAL_POWER_ERROR" - the bug-check string.

#FANCYCACHE VS SUPERCACHE DRIVERS#

But as we know, it's always best to investigate drivers and software as causes for such problems. You begin to imagine all sorts of causes, like the PSU, bad memory sticks - any number of things. I DID discover four months ago that my "best" system wouldn't hibernate or sleep without throwing a critical stop event-ID 41 in the event-viewer. There has never been a hitch or a glitch with it. I think I got a 3-PC license, and a fourth one is for 1 PC. "It's just a benchmark score!" "You can move up to gen-10 processors and Z490 boards with Optane and PCIE v.4.0 Samsung 980 Pro speeds!"īut the licenses are "lifetime". Just caching HDDs and SSDs to 8GB of RAM seems to transform the system, so those old Sandy Bridge systems might have more RAM than they already do, but souping them up further with PrimoCache RAM and SSD caches isn't a big priority for what they're currently used for. This was one reason I began increasing RAM in my systems. They have a lively and robust forum of users. A $30 piece of software from a company in Shanghai is the center of all of it: PrimoCache by Romex Software. Click to expand.I get flak here all the time for the "thing I've done" to all my systems.






Fancycache vs supercache